Institute's Awards for Excellence in October

By Freddie Pierce
Follow @JosephWilkesWDM The CILT(UK)s Annual Awards for Excellence, which aim to recognise achievements, encourage the highest standards and take a pro...

The CILT(UK)’s Annual Awards for Excellence, which aim to recognise achievements, encourage the highest standards and take a professional approach to the practice of logistics and transport, will be held on Thursday, October 24.

The awards are billed by organisers as a way of identifying those organisations and individuals whose performance has been outstanding, a sign they are leaders in their field.

The idea is that regardless of the size of the organisation, excellence is achievable, and the institute actively encourages entries from organisations of all sizes and sectors.

Pall-Ex and Cooper Parry have been shortlisted as part of the CILT Annual Awards for Excellence.

The European palletised freight network has been nominated as part of the Information Management category for its work with business advisers Cooper Parry on the launch of NAVistics.

Integrated with Pall-Ex’s own TWINE IT system, NAVistics provides a fully functional ERP (Enterprise Resource Planning) solution for SME hauliers and logistics companies.  

Director of IT at Pall-Ex Sean Sherwin-Smith, said:

“For NAVistics to gain recognition from the industry it was designed to help, is obviously hugely rewarding.

“Since launching in January, it has already made a difference to many in the sector, bringing about savings of up to £20,000 in operational costs for individual businesses.”

Vicky Playford, IT Director at Cooper Parry, said “We are delighted that Navistics has been shortlisted as a finalist in such prestigious awards. We spent a lot of time identifying what logistics operations need and produced a product that is inherently scalable, so we can sell it out of the box with very rapid deployment.  We’ll continue to develop the product in line with what our customers say and want.”

The winners of the CILT Annual Awards for Excellence will be announced 24 October at the Lancaster London Hotel.

The Annual Awards Dinner will be held at the Lancaster London Hotel at which the winners will be announced and the awards will be presented. The event is attended by finalists, sponsors, members and their guests and offers one of the year’s good networking opportunities where individuals, companies, clients and guests mix with like-minded professionals and meet the best within the industry.

You can book a place by calling Tara-Chelise Betts on 01536 740151or email [email protected]  

For sponsorship opportunities call Allison Glandfield on 01536 740125 or email  [email protected]

Award categories:

Young Manager of the Year
Sponsored by Pertemps

• Neil Cartwright, Operations Manager, Supplier Fulfilment Direct, Argos
• Byron Hughes, Ambient Fleet Commercial & Financial Accountant, Stobart Group
• Stephen Robbins, Logistics Strategy Leader, Laing O’Rourke


Supply Chain Best Practice
Sponsored by Unipart Logistics

• McDonald’s UK and Martin Brower UK
• Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
• Spirit Pub Company & Kuehne + Nagel


Freight Transport Best Practice
Sponsored by Toyota Materials Handling (UK)         

• DB Schenker Rail UK (Hams Hall to Domodossla Service)
• DHL Supply Chain and BAT
• United Biscuits Limited


Warehouse Operations
Sponsored by Hays Logistics

• Briggs Equipment UK
• Partner Logistics
• Unipart Technology Logistics (UTL)



Passenger Transport Best Practice                                                
Sponsored by GHD

• First Great Western
• ScotRail
• Sheffield Bus Partnership


Transport Policy, Planning and Implementation
Sponsored by Tachograph Analysis Consultants

• Carmarthenshire County Council 
• Mace Group
• Mott MacDonald 


Information Management
Sponsored by de Poel

• CrossCountry 
• Cooper Parry/Navistics/Pall-Ex
• Procurator


Sponsored by Yusen Logistics (UK) Ltd

• Asda
• DHL and Home Retail Group
• United Biscuits Limited


Environmental Improvement
Sponsored by Road Haulage Association

• Arla Foods UK
• Elddis Transport (Consett) Limited
• United Biscuits Limited


Development of People
Sponsored by de Poel

• CrossCountry
• Norbert Dentressangle Logistics
• RAF Brize Norton


Logistics and Transport Journalist
Sponsored by Norbert Dentressangle

• Paul Clifton, piece for BBC News 
• George Muir, writing in Passenger Transport magazine



Other Awards to be presented at the evening include:-

CILT(UK) Certificate in Logistics and Transport Student of the Year         
Sponsored by Page Personnel Logistics 



 CILT(UK) Diploma in Logistics and Transport Student of the Year
Sponsored by Michael Page Logistics


The Sir Robert Lawrence Award
Sponsored by DHL Supply Chain




Featured Articles

Disruptive supply chain tech for 2023 - FourKites

Delbert Cope, CTO at supply chain visibility platform FourKites, on the tech likely to have the biggest impact for supply professionals in 2023

Blockchain strengthening links in supply chain

Though use of blockchain solutions in supply chain is still relatively low, Tech Mahindra is among pioneers driving its adoption

Earthquake tech inspired Partsch to invent SCM in 1970s

In the late 1970s, physicist Dr Wolfgang Partsch - the father of supply chain management - used science as the basis for his revolutionary concept of SCM

SaaS bloat 'hitting procurement bottom lines'

Digital Supply Chain

Cold chain logistics 'flying blind' - Tive & FreightWaves


Logistics innovation 'hampered by C-suite, cash & staffing'

Digital Supply Chain